Happiness

Happiness

As I was browsing around the app store in iTunes I found an app called Moku Hanga by JixiPix Software. What caught my eye is that it transforms photos into what looks like Japanese wood-block printing. This cactus flower may not have been the best photo to try the app out on, but I don’t have a whole lot of images on my iPad yet.

Here are the steps I used to create the image:

The original photo was was taken in Photo Booth using the Tunnel Vision effect. I opened it in Moku Hanga and went through all the presets in both the Multi-Color and kind of liked “Pinks” in the Multi-Block section. I got out of the Style area and went into Adjust going through the sections – “Image” settings, then I changed the Palette colors and finished it up with a paper texture I liked and changed the “Paper” tint. The final step in the app was saving the image.

Happiness original photo

I then opened the saved image in Word Swag and found a text design I liked only to draw a blank as to what I wanted to say. The other day I had stumbled into some quotes within the app so I found my way back into that part of the app and found a quote that I really liked. I adjusted the opacity and placement then saved the image.

I was going to watermark the image in iWatermark but because I wanted it shorter than usual it fought with me on placement. I then tried using Juxtaposer and it worked without a hitch…and I was able to change the blending mode to Soft Light. I saved the image in Dropbox so that I could reduce the size on my laptop for this post. (I just noticed that the size of the watermark is the same as I’ve been using, but by using Soft Light it doesn’t show up as opaque as it would have in iWatermark.)

Happiness

Here is a list of the apps used and links to where you can find them in the iTunes store.

Leave a Reply

