Under the Sea - 1

Under the Sea

One day a brilliant, electric blue fish was swimming around the reef looking for something to eat. It happened upon a big yellow object it had never seen before.

It asked, “What are you? Where are you from?”

The yellow object answered, “I’m a flower and I come from up there” it motioned with one of its petals.

Just about that time a small, pink dolphin swam past the blue fish and kissed one of the petals of the flower. The blue fish had to know why the dolphin did that, so it asked, “Hey, dolphin! Why did you kiss the yellow flower?”

The dolphin replied, “because it is so beautiful…and I was drawn to it. I wanted to welcome it to the reef.”

Soon all of the creatures joined in, with a welcoming party for their new friend.

Gear used/Specs:
Olympus OM-D E-M5
m. Zuiko 12-50mm kit lens @ 43mm (macro)
10x close-up lens/filter
ISO: 100
Aperture: f/14
Shutter Speed: 3.2 seconds

Post processed in Lightroom, second image edited in Corel’s PaintShop Pro X6 Ultimate with the Fractalius plugin (there’s not a huge difference but it helped define the dolphin and blue fish shape to me)

6 thoughts on “Under the Sea

  1. Fabulous, love the image & story behind it too!
    I notice you sell on zazzle & fine art America. I’ve just joined both those sites & wondering which you prefer, have you had sales? I’d be grateful for any tips.
    So far my impressions are that zazzle seems to be alot of work, with having to create templates for each item. FAA seems hugely expensive for shipping & nobody in the uk would buy that’s certain.
    I’m trying to decide if it’s all worth it.

    • Sorry for the delay, Amanda. I started replying this morning on my tablet and when I took it out of the holder it got rid of everything I had typed! 😦 Let’s try this again…
      Zazzle is very time consuming, even with doing the “Quick create>All non-apparel”. I’m very particular with the layout on each product, so I take the time to make sure it is the way I want it to look. Then there’s the thinking up keywords and a description, that seems to take me forever! 🙂 LOL. It took about six months for my first sale back in 2009, but then I wasn’t really doing much in the social networking area to let people know what I have available. I’m still not doing too much networking for people to know, so I get sales here and there.
      I haven’t sold anything on Fine Art America and I’m trying to decide if I want to pay the $30 again this year for the premium account (basically the privilege to use the code so that it displays on my blog/website).
      Hope that helps, any more questions feel free to ask. 🙂

      • Thanks very much Debbie, I’m grateful for your advice. From your reply I can tell moving in that direction is not going to allow me to give up my day job LOL. Shame!
        On fine art America I only opened a free account, $30 does seem a good deal for what they promise, but I’ve already spotted the pitfalls. The basic problem is that on WordPress people generally only see posts in the reader & so don’t even know about your store. Likewise on Facebook where people tend to view through their newsfeed. It’s actually quite rare for people to click on the actual page, in addition statistics say that most people use mobile devices & of course the tabs can’t even be seen on mobiles.

        Hmmm food for thought, & difficult to know what to do. I work full time so have very little time to spare, even this week researching all this has left me unable to create posts here on WordPress. To promote sales, social media could be a fill time job by itself! Maybe I should just aim for 1 product a week on Zazzle.

        Thank you Debbie 🙂 x

      • Amanda, there are “power sellers” on zazzle (some who have quit their day job), but I think they’re the ones who offer their artwork as templates for wedding invitations, stamps and other related needs.

        As for people not seeing the store link, I’m thinking of creating icons to be used in the bottom of a post to let people know what stores the image is available at
        (Zazzle, Fine Art America, RedBubble, 500px).

        Good luck with your venture.
        Debbie

Leave a Reply

